Texas Tech University

Hayhoe, Ph.D.

Climate Scientist, Professor, TIME's 100 Most Influential People,
FORTUNE's 50 World's Greatest Leaders

Friday, October 12, 2018 - 7:00 p.m.

Katharine Hayhoe is an accomplished atmospheric scientist who studies climate change and why it matters to us here and now. She is also a remarkable communicator. In 2014, she was recognized by Time Magazine as one of the top 100 Most Influential People in the World and by Foreign Policy as one of the top 100 Global Thinkers. Her work was featured on the Emmy award-winning documentary series, The Years of Living Dangerously, and she won the American Geophysical Union's award for climate communication. In 2016, she was named to the Politico Magazine's 50 list of thinkers, doers and visionaries transforming American politics, while in 2017 she was named one of Fortune Magazine's world's greatest leaders.

She is a lead author for the U.S. National Climate Assessments and has served on the panels for the National Academy of Science, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and many other professional organizations devoted to understanding and communicating climate change. Katharine is currently a professor and directs the Climate Science Center at Texas Tech University. She has a B.Sc. in Physics from the University of Toronto and an M.S. and Ph.D. in Atmospheric Science from the University of Illinois.

Dr. Katharine Hayhoe will introduce and facilitate a panel discussion on climate change solutions by industry leaders in the fields of conventional energy, free market advocacy and policy, and clean energy.

Conventional energy expert, Joey Hall, is Executive Vice President, Permian Operations, for Pioneer Natural Resources and a member of its Management Team. He is responsible for the planning, development and operations for the oil and gas activities in the Permian Basin. In 2016, he was inducted into the Texas Tech University Petroleum Engineering Academy. Hall has a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from Texas Tech University and is a Registered Professional Engineer in the State of Texas.

Free market advocate and policy expert, Bob Inglis, serves as executive director for the Energy and Enterprise Initiative at George Mason University where he promotes free enterprise action on climate change. For his work, Inglis was given the 2015 John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award. He appears in the film Merchants of Doubt and in the Showtime series Years of Living Dangerously. Bob was elected to the U.S. Congress in 1992, representing Greenville-Spartanburg, South Carolina, from 1993-1998, and re-elected, serving from 2004-2010.

Clean energy expert, Michael Webber, is the Deputy Director of the Energy Institute, Josey Centennial Fellow in Energy Resources, Co-Director of the Clean Energy Incubator at the Austin Technology Incubator, and Professor of Mechanical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, where he trains the next generation of energy leaders through research and education at the convergence of engineering, policy, and commercialization. He holds 4 patents, is on the advisory board for Scientific American, and has authored more than 300 publications.

“Katharine Hayhoe is a national treasure.” -Anthony Leiserowitz, director of the Yale Program on Climate Change Communication

Book signing following presentation

Venue: Allen Theatre artist information buy tickets

General Admission

$20 individual
$85 season tickets

Purchase individual and season tickets through all Select-A-Seat locations, call 806.770.2000 or visit www.selectaseatlubbock.com .

TTU Students

1 free ticket

Present valid TTU ID at the East SUB information desk to receive your free ticket. Student tickets available one month prior to events.

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at TTU Members

$15 General admission

Present valid OLLI ID at the Select-A-Seat Civic Center Box Office or order online www.selectaseatlubbock.com using your member promo code. https://www.depts.ttu.edu/olli/.

Contact & Comment


To suggest topics, speakers or performers for future events, or to comment on the current series, contact Presidential Lecture & Performance Series director Jo Moore.

Parking Arrangements

view parking map

We greatly appreciate University Parking Services for their consideration of our patrons in agreeing to provide complimentary parking preceding our events. Parking lots that are available for complimentary use are R03 (the Library lot), R11 (the Band lot), R07 (the Administration Building lot), and R13 (the Visitor lot). Please refer to the map for parking lot locations. Please note that parking in handicap, service and reserved spaces until 11:00 pm is prohibited without a valid TTU parking or handicap permit.

Join our mailing list.

subscribe now

Subscribe to our mailing list and be the first to know about all of our upcoming events!

Office of the President