Texas Tech University

President's Leadership Institute

The President's Leadership Institute will provide faculty and staff with an opportunity to learn more about themselves, others they work with, and how they can work together to become better leaders, whether in current or aspirational positions. Texas Tech University possesses many solid leaders across campus, and this Institute is designed to assist in expanding those leadership characteristics and guiding others who are interested in developing stronger leadership skills.

The Institute will provide an opportunity for faculty and staff to interactively learn more about leadership styles, management tools, and higher education administrative operations. All faculty and staff are welcome to take advantage of this opportunity and help Texas Tech University become an even greater institution of higher learning.

2015-2016 President's Leadership Institute Cohort

Members of the 2015-2016 cohort include: Drew Jahr, Carrye Syma, Courtney Meyers, Kate Haenchen, Jaclyn Canas-Carrell, Patricia Delucia, Charles Crews (left to right, front row) and Conrad Lyford, Liz Inskip-Paulk, Todd Brashears, Jessica Spott, Ken Griffith, Jon Ulmer, Kim Simon, Wes Condray and Matt Saldana (left to right, back row). Members not pictured include Brandi Schreiber, Kara Newcomb and Celine Godard-Codding.
M. Todd Brashears
,  Professor- Agricultural Education & Communication
Jaclyn Cañas-Carrell, Associate Professor- Environmental Toxicology
Wes Condray, Assistant Director- Raider Ready/Undergraduate Education
Charles Crews, Associate Professor- Educational Psychology & Leadership
Patricia DeLucia, Professor- Psychological Sciences
Ali Duffy, Associate Professor- Theatre & Dance
Céline Godard-Codding, Associate Professor- Environmental Toxicology
Ken Griffith, Administrator- Teaching, Learning, & Professional Development Center
Dena Katherine Haenchen, Unit Manager- Space Planning & Inventory Operations Divising Planning & Administration
Liz Inskip-Paulk,  Assistant Managing Director- National Wind Institute
Mitchell (Drew) Jahr, Assistant Director- Facilities & Operations University Student Housing
Conrad Lyford, Professor- Agricultural & Applied Economics
Courtney Meyers, Associate Professor- Agricultural Education & Communication
Kara Newcomb, Managing Director- Payroll & Tax Services
Matthew Saldana, Instructor- National Wind Institute
Brandi Schreiber, Associate Director- Student Disability Services
Kimberly Simón, Unit Assistant Director- Risk Intervention & Safety Education (RISE)
Jessica Spott,  Senior Program Administrator- STEM Center for Outreach, Research, & Education
Carrye Syma, Associate Librarian- University Libraries
Jonathan Ulmer,  Associate Professor- Agricultural Education & Communication

Tentative dates for modules being offered:

  • Module 1
    Monday, October 24 |  8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Module 2
    Monday, November 7th  |  1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Module 3
    Monday, January 23rd  |  1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Module 4
    Monday, February 20th  |  1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Module 5
    Tuesday, March 21st  |  1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Graduation Reception
    Monday, April 17th  |  6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

See the President's Leadership Institute Modules for a more detailed look at the classes being offered.

The Application Process

The applications for the 2016-2017 cohort are now available and may be downloaded through the link below. The deadline to submit applications is Friday, September 23rd,2016. 

Individuals interested in the President's Leadership Institute should submit the completed application to presidentsleadershipinstitute@ttu.edu.

The application requirements include:

  1. Recommendations using the Department Head and AVP/Dean Recommendation Forms available in the application.
  2. Answers to the following questions in the application:
    • What specific skills/knowledge do you hope to gain from your participation in the President’s Leadership Institute?
    • Describe your last major professional growth, what caused it, and the impact it had for you and/or your department.
  3. Summarization of academic history, including degrees/certificates received, vocational training programs, professional institutes, etc.
  4. Description of current responsibilities
  5. A completed application form, which you can download and fill out:

For more information, contact presidentsleadershipinstitute@ttu.edu or contact Suzanne Tapp, Executive Director of the Teaching, Learning, and Professional Development Center, at suzanne.tapp@ttu.edu or Kerri Pike, Business Manager of the TLPDC, at kerri.pike@ttu.edu.


Office of the President