

MEMORANDUM

DATE: September 25, 2019

TO: TTU Faculty

FROM: Lawrence Schovanec, President

Michael Galyean, Provost

Joseph A. Heppert, Vice President for Research & Innovation

RE: President's Departmental Safety Award

The Offices of the President, Provost, and Vice President for Research & Innovation are pleased to announce the creation of a new award recognizing departments and academic units for their commitment to the continuous improvement of safety culture on campus.

This award will recognize departments or academic units that attain distinction in commitment to safety and establishment of notable safety practices. The award will be presented to one academic unit per academic year, and carries a financial award of \$25,000 to be used to further the safety mission of the department.

Applications will be accepted throughout the fall semester for the first award cycle. Departments will be asked to document a commitment to safety culture, including metrics from the TTU compliance committees, and a plan on how award funds will be used to improve safety infrastructure or further the department's mission to improve safety culture for faculty, staff, and students. The submission process is currently being finalized and will be shared with Deans and Chairs in the coming weeks.

This award underscores the University's continual commitment to safety in research and scholarly activity, and seeks to recognize programs across campus for their safety efforts.

We would like to thank our campus community for its continued service to the University and attention in continually seeking ways to strengthen our safety culture.