Texas Tech University
TTU Home Departments


South Plains Public Television

Channel 5 (Cox Cable 4), Digital 39 is a noncommercial educational television station. It is licensed by the Federal Communications Commission to the University’s Board of Regents and is operated by the Division of the Office of the Provost at Texas Tech University's Educational Television Department. The Broadcast operation is part of a telecommunications service center that includes a seven-channel cable system, capable of feeding instructional television programming to classrooms throughout the campus, and a multiterminal telecommunications receive-only earth station, providing the university’s principal access to communications satellites.

KTXT-TV is a member of the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), a noncommercial network of 349 television stations interconnected by satellite. The station is staffed by professional personnel who produce some of the programs it broadcasts. They also produce programming to satisfy nonbroadcasting needs of the University and the community.


View the KTXT-TV web site